Monday, September 28, 2009

A Million MIles and All I got were these lousy bag tags.

My American Airlines Million Miler welcome packet finally arrived. What a let down! And I'll warn you in advance I am bitter. I do admit I had false expectations of celebration and grandeur on the part of AA. Like maybe the doorbell would ring (a la Publisher's Clearing House) and there would be the American AAdvantage crew with a marching band and a jumbo size commemorative tchotchke. Instead the mailman dropped an AA envelope in the mailbox one day with all the other junk mail and bills.

In honor of my incredible achievement (so they said in the pre-printed form letter) I am bestowed with luggage tags that include the million-mile "logo" and eight segment upgrades. The upgrades are nice but if they had looked at my account summary they would have noticed there are like 20 upgrades sitting there that I can't use. Now I have 28 that will never clear. The paper stock that the form letter was printed on was probably the most expensive part of the whole deal. Blah.

Behold -- the luggage tag


Maybe two million miles will be better. Maybe?

Sunday, September 20, 2009

Redman Race Report

First off, let me just say that I FINISHED!!!!!!!!!!!!
1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run in six hours, 14 minutes. Not the time I was hoping for but the day was full of the unexpected. Oy Vey.

We rode-tripped it up there on Friday with Davis and Graham. It was a fun ride and it's been a long time since I had a road trip. We made it to Oklahoma City. Got to the race site, checked in for the race, got all signed in, dropped off our bikes, and went for a practice swim. I have to say, the practice swim was quite a surprise. The lake had a cement bottom. Well, not the whole lake but where we entered the water was cement. I'm sure it was a boat ramp or something but still cement vs. mushy, grodie, muddy lake-floor is a nice change. Did a little bit of swimming but got out pretty quick. The water was cold and I didn't put on my wetsuit for the practice swim.

We then went to the hotel; checked-in, and met up with a bunch of other folks we knew who were doing the race for dinner. Pre-race diners are my favorite -- Carb Loading. I love carbs. I could sustain on pasta and every other type of carb and be perfectly happy. I inhaled my pasta and then it was back to the hotel for some rest.

Rest is relative the night before a big event. I slept in 20-minute intervals for most of the night. The anxiety was killer.

We woke up to a nice morning. A little overcast. 60 degree's-ish. And headed out to the race site.

Since the bikes were checked in the night before, there wasn't much to do that morning other than set up my transition area which entails putting out my bike stuff and run stuff so it's ready for when I get to that stage of the race. I double-checked my tires at the LAST minute just to make sure I was aired up, in the right gears, and ready to go. GUESS WHAT??? Flat rear tire. Yup. Flat. And these are my race wheels so the tire is glued to the wheel. There's no changing this puppy easily. Luckily, and I am so glad I am anal, I had a back-up wheel set in the car. I found Shawn (who had the car keys). We RAN to the car, grabbed my other wheel set and swapped out the wheels. We made it with five minutes to spare. Disaster. Recovery. Nice.

Then the sky opened up and it poured. I mean pouring rain. Monsoon. The storm stalled over the race site for about an hour. Since this was at the lake it was all grass and dirt. Which quickly became mud. It was disgusting. The race start was delayed for over an hour and we weren't sure it was even going to go off. There was talk of cancellation. Here is an early morning "race pic" that Shawn took. I thought it would be the only one of the day. Notice the level of the water. Ankle deep. This was the start and the theme for the day. Ugh.

At least I was dressed for the occasion. When else does a wetsuit come in so handy????

After an hour+ the race director decided that the race would go on. This race was the National Championships. Everyone who has been winning Half-Ironman's across the country qualified to compete in this race for a chance to win the National title. I think that was the reason the race went on. If it were a normal race it would have been canceled.

I was ready to bail but I think Davis and Graham were on the fence. Graham, at a minimum, wanted to get the swim in. While I tried to talk some sense into these boys Shawn snapped a picture. Here we are huddled under a tent trying to stay warm and dry. Notice the matching wetsuits. Coincidence.


Okay, storm passes, drama over, time to race. I have to admit, I was nervous. I had a horrible morning, anxiety was in overdrive, weather, and race conditions were horrible. But this was part of our Ironman training and if the weather is bad on Ironman day, I have to deal with it. So that's what I did.

Davis and I were in the same swim (start) wave. Graham was in the wave after us. Davis and I get in the lake, cannon goes off, and we start swimming. It took me a few minutes to get into my groove. I swam slow and stayed towards the back of the pack. After some time swimming I had to give myself a swift kick in the butt and a pep talk. I picked it up a little bit and swam like I was an Ironman in training. There were a few moments of panic during the swim but I dealt with it and finished the swim in 37 minutes. Wow. That's all I can say. That is a good time for me. And somewhere along the way I passed half of my swim wave to get out of the water in the top half of the age group.

On to the bike. When I got to the bike EVERYTHING was soaked. I put on my socks and bike shoes, grabbed my bike and hoped for the best. It started pouring again at about mile 2. And it rained on and off for the entire bike ride, 56 miles, which I did in three hours. I averaged 18.7 mph for 56 miles. Not at all the fastest bike time of the race but I'm proud of me. OOOOOHHHHHH and at mile six, the road was flooded. Yup. 6+ inches of standing water. We had to get off our bikes and carry our bikes across this impromptu pond. If my feet weren't wet enough already. I almost fell once on the bike but recovered. Don't know how. But I did.

About mile 30 on the bike, I started to feel a little sick to my stomach. Nothing gross but I just felt "full." So I laid off the gu's and the Gatorade for a bit but it didn't help. Drinking or trying to eat wasn't helping. I finished the bike and transitioned into the run.

The run was horrible. I ran for about three seconds and quickly knew running wasn't in my future. I was not feeling so hot. I was also getting worried because I was feeling worse and I hadn't eaten or drank anything in hours. I walked 90% of the run but made sure I was running whenever I passed the photographers so I at least looked good in the race photos (hey, I have my priorities, even when I feel like death is calling).

I've never pushed my body so far or so hard. I never knew my limits and I'm still not sure I know how much further I could have pushed. But I finished. I'm not the most spiritual person but there are times when you have to thank God for what he allows us to do. I know I wasn't alone on that racecourse. There was definitely someone above looking out for me and giving me strength. It was humbling and exhilarating. A miserable day and a day full of rewards.

Going into this weekend, my goal was to finish under six hours. I very quickly went from that objective to just finishing. And I can't thank Shawn and Gayle enough for being out there and cheering us on all day. hey were stuck out in the rain and mud for hours. But with smiles on their faces and words of encouragement.

Race pics to be posted once I get them. I know there are a few cute ones. That's all for now. Now my week of ZERO training. Yee hah.

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Getting Ready to Race!

It's hard to believe that my first Ironman prep race is here. Saturday is the Redman Half-Ironman in Oklahoma City. It's supposed to be a great race, despite its politically incorrect name.

Friday is all the pre-race mandatories. Participant check-in (where I will get a super-cool wristband), race packet pick-up, pre-race meeting, bike check-in, bag drop off, and practice swim. Saturday is the race. The anxiety is already starting. I know I'll do fine (I keep telling myself), I've done it before, but I'm still nervous. I'll let you guys know how it goes. Supposedly, you can track an athlete on their website on race day.

http://www.redmantriathlon.com/

Since this page isn't live yet I don't know if you track by my name or my bib/race number. I do know my bib/race number is 570. I'd love to finish under 6 hours but finishing is my general goal.

On a happier note, I did a little retail therapy and my part to bring an end to the recession Saturday. Check out my new, awesome boots.


There were a few other goodies that were screaming my name but my financial conscious (a.k.a. Shawn) wouldn't let me buy them. I'll have to hit the mall solo so I can splurge. Besides, all my winter clothes are in storage. What other choice do I have but to buy all new stuff?????

This week also marks the start of the Fall TV Line Up. I'm so excited. Ever since I got a DVR I've become a TV junkie. Last night was The Biggest Loser. It was an episode full of laughter, tears, gasps, and shocking weigh-ins. First off, home-girl collapses after running a mile, tries to crawl her way to the finish line, and then totally passes out. And for a sure ratings spike, they don't just load her into an ambulance and cart her to the hospital, they call in a helicopter. Yes. They air lifted Traci right on out. Wow. I hope she has a low-fat IV at the hospital or else those extra calories will affect her weigh in.

And they brought Dan back... Come on... I know he needs help but he had his chance and was sent home last season. Let someone else have a chance. Boo.

But you have to love Bob and Jillian. Bring on the tough love. Except for Abby. She needs a little tender love. But just for a few weeks.

I also stumbled upon a fantastic Twitter feed. The guy tweeting is 29 years old. He moved back in with his parents. We don't know much about his mom but his dad is 79 years old. And is quite opinionated. Verbose. And a bit profane. The son tweets things his dad says. The Twitter feed is titled "Shit My Dad Says." Priceless one-liners.

We may have so me new news on the house front. We're considering expanding our geography to include a new part of town. In our budget. Either new construction or teardowns. I'm optimistic. Perhaps foolishly. But optimistic none-the-less.

Not much else to report. I've got some stretching and hydrating to attend to before the big weekend. I'll post pics and updates when I have them.

Think of me on Saturday. I'll need the good vibes.
1.2 mile swim. 56 mile bike. 13.1 run.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Homeless In Highland Park Almost A Reality

Yes, the headline is a teaser. You have to read this post to get to the punch line. It's been a few days since my last post so I'll go in chronological order ending with the culmination of the holiday weekend.

Where to start, where to start....

Sorry to be a downer, but I'm going to start with some sad new. My friend Rodney, who I have known since college, lost his mother last week. His mom, Wanda K Booker, lost her battle with breast cancer. She was only 56. It was the third round of breast cancer and Wanda decided she fought all she could the first two times and upon the third, she would enjoy her days to the fullest and give in when the time came. She had a few fabulous weeks with her friends and family but when the end was near, it came fast. A sad, sad day.

The funeral was a very nice service. And in true southern, Baptist, African-American style, her funeral service was a celebration of life complete with daring fashion, the most incredible hats I've ever seen, lots of song, and a vocal congregation agreeing with the pastor. Being Catholic, our services are not "interactive." We get to sit, stand, and kneel and only when told to do so, we answer the priest. And it's not answering as much as it is formal response. Well, not at this church. If you have something to say, just shout it out. And if people agree with you, they will let it be known. Um hmmm, that's right. You know it's true.

Not to make light of the service at all, it was very touching but it's nice to see people celebrate an incredible life than mourn death. When I go, I'm having the same service. Start planning your outfit and making your hats people. I'm going to invite Heidi Klum and Nina Garcia who are going to vote on your creation as you enter the sanctuary. Make it work!

Since I attended the service, I had to rearrange my training schedule. I sort of bailed on my long swim; I just didn't have the time or the desire to go swim. But I did get 65 miles in on the bike in 3.5 hours and a 14-mile run in two hours. I bought new shoes last week and thought I'd break them in before my race. Let me tell you...these are the same exact shoes I've been running in for the longest time. Well, these weren't shoes. They were torture chambers. The first few miles I felt fine. And about mile 5 or 6 I started to "feel" my left foot. When running, you shouldn't feel anything. If you feel, it's no good. When I was done, my feet were killing me and I had two blisters. Twins. Lucky me. I got home, showered, went back to the store where I bought them and returned them. I have a new pair that I'll try out tonight. Wish me luck. Now is not the time to have shoe issues.

On a happier and more exciting note, this was the last big training weekend before the race! I am so glad to be out of peak training and into my taper. The race is 10 days away. I can't believe it! Redman Half-Ironman here I come, blisters and all!

Sunday afternoon Gayle, Davis, and I met with Chuck and Michelle who are the head coached of Fit 2 Train, the group I train and coach with. We planned out the rest of the year and started planning for 2010. I'm so excited. We are going to keep our Rookie/beginner group but also add a long-distance training program for beginners. No more details on that yet but I'm excited to have a plan and to get a group of people trained for a half-Ironman. And it will dovetail nicely with my Ironman training.

On Monday, a bunch of our Rookies had their first triathlon. It was so exciting to be out there, helping them set up their transition areas, calming nerves, and answering all the last minute questions. It was a hot day, the race started late, and I was glad to be spectating and not racing. Everyone did awesome and finished. Gayle, Davis, and I couldn't be prouder. We even had a few place in their division! Here are some pics.

The day started with the kids’ tri. These kids were so cute. There was one little girl with training wheels on her bike. I didn't get a pic but it was the cutest thing ever.


Here is our group all sticking together before the swim start. Ugh, I remember the anxiety like it was just minutes ago. The nerves, the fear, the OMG, I am crazy.



The next pic is of Brian. Brian is kind of amazing. Brian isn't in our group but he's an honorary member. Brian is dating Amanda, the daughter of Gayle's boyfriend Steve (Gayle is the head Rookie coach). Brian has a horrible bone/joint disease, which makes walking hard and running almost impossible. But he can swim like a fish. He started swimming with Gayle a few months ago just for exercise. He's a good swimmer and has been swimming for years prior to Gayle. But that was the extent of it. Then Gayle, Amanda, and Brian decided they would form a team and do tri's as a relay team. Brian swims, Gayle bikes, and Amanda runs. Needless to say it's a heartwarming story. Brian has decided that he is going to compete in a short-distance tri next year. Gayle is going to coach him. His doctors have cleared it. It's going to be hard for him. He'll have to walk the 5k, who knows how his biking will be, but he'll finish. Unfortunately, his disease is only getting worse and walking will be impossible in the future. So, we're super proud of him.


Post-race team photo.


And the most wonderful coaches ever.


After a long day of spectating and cheering we made it back home. I took a long nap and Shawn went to see a movie. When I woke up from my nap, I was hungry. So I pulled out my leftovers from the previous night and threw it in the microwave. The tray had silver/metal on it. Who knew????? After a minute or so I smelt something burning only to find the microwave in flames. I thought animals were supposed to sense danger. Not Luke. He was sleeping on the chair and never even moved. I guess he's not going to wake us up in the middle of the night to save us from the burning building. Luckily, there was a big bowl on the counter so I grabbed it, filled it with water, and threw it into the microwave. Didn't really work. So I filled it again, and tried to douse the flames. After a few attempts, the flames were out. But not before turning the microwave black and scorching the cabinets above. AND my food was ruined. Soaking wet. I'm glad I didn't burn the house down but there were a few seconds where I thought I should abandon my firefighting efforts, grab my valuables, the dog, and my cell phone and call 911. The house still stinks. No clue how to get the burnt smell out. But no one got hurt.

Nothing new on the house-hunting front. We're going to meet with a builder and see if building is a possibility. There is nothing on the market that we like enough to buy and what is there is still priced more than it should be. Ugh, if only Dallas was hit with the housing bust like so many other markets.

Be careful in the kitchen y'all and make sure you have a working fire extinguisher. Also test your smoke alarms and makes sure they work. I know mine don't.